Past Players and Officials


Club Bingo

Don’t forget MFNC Bingo is held weekly on Wednesdays at Morwell Club, tickets from 11.15am eyes down 12 noon.  The Football Netball Club is extremely fortunate to have the weekly Bingo fully sponsored by the Morwell Club.  Bingo Licence holder Stan Morgan advises that the Football Netball Club has seen off many challenges over the last 17 years but could not have done so without the generosity of the Morwell Club.  ”We pay no rent for the use of the venue or the Bingo equipment, we do not have to set up or clean up, our hosts undertake the catering and bar service and provide the staff to undertake these duties.  We even have Kevin Ayre, one of their committeemen, as our regular caller.”  Stan said.  "This very generous financial saving and manpower assistance mean that just supervisor Molly Love, administrator Min Weatherly and I can run 30 games every Wednesday without the stress of having to worry about all the other related tasks.  I cannot speak too highly of both the value of the sponsorship or the co-operation afforded by Morwell Club President Robin Blair and all of his staff.  We could not have got through some of the leaner times without the partnership."  Stan concluded.

We play 30 games and recently the regular prize schedule has been:  - 27 x $40 games, 2 x $80/100 games and 1 x $400 game

Don't forget to also join our social media page Morwell FNC Photo History Page where we house a lot of our club history and memorabilia images 



The Morwell Football Club has from time to time over it's 100 plus years of history held functions for past players & officials, further research is being conducted to establish the full history of the club and these activities.

In 2000 under the guidance of a small group of enthusiasts, the Morwell Football & Netball Club Past Players and Officials group was formally reconstituted after being in recess for a number of years with the following Executive, President Mr A. (Tony) M. Sherriff, Secretary Mr. David B. Ryan and Treasurer Mr Steven J. Sykes who had recently retired as MFC Treasurer.  This group together with a small committee took responsibility for contacting former players & officials to keep them informed of the club's activities, conducted reunions of former premiership teams, engaged in fundraising and constructed and operated the outside beer booth at home games.

This executive continued unchanged until 2005 when Mr David Ryan stood down as Secretary. In 2006 Mr S. (Stan) J. Morgan joined the existing executive as Secretary and they continued in office until the 2009 AGM when Mr A (Tony) M. Sherriff retired from the position of President. Mr Joe Hutchinson took over as President in 2009 until his untimely passing in 2010. At the 2010 AGM, Mr Stan Morgan retired as secretary and Mr Steven Sykes became secretary/ treasurer Mr Dennis Macfarlane was elected President following the passing of Joe Hutchinson and re-elected at the 2011 AGM.

A major reunion was conducted in 2011 as the 50-year reunion and celebration of the 1961 Senior & Reserves Premierships on Sunday 5th of June when Morwell played Moe. All players from that era were made most welcome and 71 people enjoyed the day and evening. 2012 was the anniversary of the 1952 Tiger team's triumph, however, after 60 years only a few of those players have survived. For 2012 the PP&O arranged a reunion for all MFNC Past Players but especially honouring Life Members on Saturday, August 11th when the Tigers took on Wonthaggi at Morwell. 50 people enjoyed catching up at the match, the usual great afternoon tea and the after match dinner where many stories of past achievements were retold.